Acne Paper

When first launched in August 2005, Acne Paper promptly gained a reputation as the most exciting new magazine on the market. Its large uncoated format, delicately embellished with a striking portrait, title at the bottom instead of the usual top, suggested something different, something timeless, something nostalgic yet refreshingly modern. Under the editorship and creative direction of Thomas Persson each issue has been created around one idea – a theme big enough to appeal to everyone interested in the arts regardless of their age or their culture. With an in-depth editorial identity that affectionately merges the past with the present, each issue of Acne Paper explores its subject from various and often unexpected viewpoints. Because of its seriousness in content and originality of style the magazine is being recog- nised all over the world as an intelligent and glamorous publication unlike any other. Acne Paper has published 15 editions, and during this time the magazine has featured and collaborated with some of the

most distinguished names in the worlds of photography, art, fashion, and culture at large.

In photography

Snowdon, Bruce Weber, David Bailey, Eric Boman, Mario Testino, Brigitte Lacombe, Sølve Sundsbø
Jean Paul Goude, Daniel Jackson, Hans Feurer, Katerina Jebb, Vivane Sassen, Lillian Bassman, Ryan McGinley
Richard Burbridge, Bill Cunningham, Roe Ethridge, Benjamin Alexander Huseby, Julia Hetta
Andreas Larsson, Duane Michals, Sarah Moon, Deborah Turbeville, Saul Leiter, Roxanne Lowitt
David Armstrong, Paolo Roversi, The Irving Penn Foundation, The Richard Avedon Foundation
The Condé Nast Archives, as well as curators Lisa Naftolin, Vincent Katz, and Vince Aletti.

In fashion

Azzedine Alaïa, Alber Elbaz, Manolo Blahnik, Carine Roitfeld, Harold Koda, Kim Jones, Nicola Formichetti
Marie Chaix, Mr. Pearl, Monsieur Lesage, Stephen Jones, Dr. Valerie Steele, Patricia Mears, Hannes Hetta
Peter Philips, Christian Lacroix, and Tilda Swinton.

In art

Terence Koh, Rachel Feinstein, Nan Goldin, Tacita Dean, Marina Abramovic, David Lynch, Richard Prince
Carsten Höller, Louise Bourgeois, AA Bronson, William Wegman, Gillian Wearing, Jack Pierson
Philippe Vergne, Kiki Smith, Alex Katz, Lola Schnabel, Luigi Ontani, John Chamberlain, Richard Serra
Jeff Koons, Joan Jonas, Paula Cooper, The Maureen Paley Gallery, as well as curators Neville Wakefield
and Hans Ulrich Obrist.

In culture at large

Graydon Carter, Fran Lebowitz, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Salman Rushdie, Malcolm McLaren, Peter Schlesinger
Isabella Rossellini, Marisa Berenson, Pierre Bergé, Merce Cunningham, Axel Vervoordt, Iris Apfel
Bob Colacello, Glenn O’Brien, and Deborah Mitford, The Dowager Duchess of Devonshire.

Acne Paper 14th issueManhattan
Saul Leiter photography portfolio

Acne Paper Editorial Staff

Publisher — Mikael Schiller
Founder and Editor at Large — Jonny Johansson
Editor in Chief and Creative Director — Thomas Persson
Fashion Director — Mattias Karlsson
Editors — Charlotte Rey and Duncan Campbell
Art Director — Johannes Svartholm
Designer — Christian Altmann
Senior Fashion Editor — Marie Chaix
Contributing Editor — Gini Alhadeff
Text Editor — Hans Olsson
Final Print Production — Elinor Linde Klingström
Communication Director — Veronica Wallin
Distribution — Carla De Michiel-Smith/Comag
Advertising — Charlotte Rey


Lilla Nygatan 23
Box 2327
SE-10318 Stockholm
T +46 8 555 799 00


39 rue Sainte-Croix
de la Bretonnerie
75004 Paris
T +33 1 44 78 67 00